WhatsApp sharing data with Facebook
WhatsApp has given its users time till February 8, 2021, to accept the terms and policies if the users want to continue using the said platform. If failed to accept the terms and policies within the given time period, the users can delete their accounts.
The updated policy gives a detailed briefing as to how the user data is being shared with Facebook. Facebook will receive the user data such as phone number and account registration information, IP address, transaction data, and information of the mobile device.
The Facebook companies that will receive the said user data includes, Facebook Payments, Facebook Technologies, WhatsApp and to improve their “services, such as to provide technical infrastructure, delivery, and other systems; market our Services; conduct surveys and research for us; protect the safety, security, and integrity of users and others; and assist with customer service.”
The users who fail to accept the terms and conditions will have to delete their accounts and WhatsApp will remove all the information once the account is deleted, “Please remember that when you delete your account, it does not affect your information related to the groups you created or the information other users have relating to you, such as their copy of the messages you sent them.”